I’ve had a splitting tension/sinus headache since about 7pm, but that’s not the (only) reason I’m still up.  Working nights sucks when you want to be a day person on the weekend and spend time with your family, because your body develops it’s own idea of when it should be tired.  You’d think it would just be at 8am…my normal bedtime during the week, but noooo, that would be too easy.  The times of day when I find myself truly bone-wearily ready for sleep are around 4:30 AM, 2 or 3PM on weekend days (which is when I usually wake up during the week) and 7 or 8pm (or right before I get ready to go into work at 9PM.)  Unfortunately, NONE of those times are good times for me to fall asleep.   Falling asleep at 10PM with my husband or 8AM when I get home?  Can’t do it. 

Oh, I know the answer…stick to one sleep schedule.  Ha…fat chance.  I have a family I happen to want to spend time with, so I suffer on.  It makes me grumpy, it makes me gain weight, it drains my energy, I get sick more often, headaches and I don’t even want to talk about the dark circles I sport regularly, but it’s all worth it that one night a week when I manage to cuddle up next to my husband and sleep while he’s sleeping too, all night long.   It’s the small things that make me happy.